Around Wichita Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event

Talks and Readings Events
 
Sort by: Event Venue Date
    
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings
Bree Barton and Sarah Henning Author Talk and Signing
Watermark Books & Cafe will host Bree Barton and Sarah Henning for an author talk and signing on August 16 at 6:00 p.m. FOR HEART OF THORNS: Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor won’t want to miss this gorgeously written, bold novel, the first in the He...
Watermark Books & Cafe
Wichita, KS

Thu 8/16/18 at 6pm-7pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
Candid Conversations Book Club
Come to the Maya Angelou Branch Library for a special after-hours book discussion as part of our Candid Conversation series, programs looking at issues of race in our community and country. This month's book discussion will be on The Line Becomes a River: ...
Wichita Public Library – Angelou Northeast Branch
Wichita, KS

Fri 8/17/18 at 7pm-8:30pm
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings
Alexandra Ott Author Talk and Signing
Watermark Books & Cafe will host Alexandra Ott for an author talk and signing of Shadow Thieves on Saturday, August 18 at 2:00 p.m. Alli must risk everything to save her new family from a rogue organization that is threatening the Thieves Guild's existenc...
Watermark Books & Cafe
Wichita, KS

Sat 8/18/18 at 2pm-3pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
Microsoft Power Point for Beginners
This class offers the basics on how to design creative presentations and slideshows for business, school, or personal use. Must have basic keyboard and mouse skills. Registration is required, beginning on June 1; call 261-8500, or register online.
Wichita Public Library – Advanced Learning Library
Wichita, KS

Sat 8/18/18 at 10:30am-12pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
Wichita Genealogical Society Quarterly Meeting
TBA
Wichita Public Library – Lionel D. Alford Branch
Wichita, KS

Sat 8/18/18 at 1pm-3pm
Talks & Readings: Signing/Readings
David Joy Author Talk and Signing
Watermark Books & Cafe will host David Joy for an author talk and signing on Tuesday, August 21 at 6:00 p.m. for his book The Line that Held Us. From critically acclaimed author David Joy comes a remarkable novel about the cover-up of an accidental death,...
Watermark Books & Cafe
Wichita, KS

Tue 8/21/18 at 6pm-7pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures, Gardening
Fall Gardening: Bulbs
Bulbs can be used in a garden to provide color for all seasons. Extension Master Gardener Butch Ewing will talk about general "bulb" information: definition of a bulb, as well as planting and storage. There will also be some suggestions on how to use bulbs...
Wichita Public Library – Westlink Branch
Wichita, KS

Tue 8/21/18 at 5:30pm-7pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
Open Books, Open Minds Book Discussion
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Human foibles and early nineteenth-century manners are satirized in this romantic tale of English country family life as Elizabeth Bennet and her four sisters are encouraged to marry well in order to keep the Bennet ...
Wichita Public Library – Advanced Learning Library
Wichita, KS

Tue 8/21/18 at 5:30pm-6:30pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
PARKING 2.0: Considering Public Health, Economic Strength and Transportation Connections
What do health, parking, transportation, and economic development have in common? When it comes to planning a city for the future, quite a lot. Health ICT, in collaboration with the Health and Wellness Coalition of Wichita, Wichita Area Metropolitan Planni...
Wichita Art Museum
Wichita, KS

Tue 8/21/18 at 5:30pm-7:30pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures, Computers/Technology
Pinterest
Learn about Pinterest, an online visual pin board. Learn about the “Pin It’ button, how to follow other pinners and good “pintiquette.” An e-mail address is needed before class. Must have basic keyboard and mouse skills. Registration is required, beginning...
Wichita Public Library – Rockwell Branch
Wichita, KS

Tue 8/21/18 at 10:30am-12pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
Third Tuesdays Book Discussion
The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson Fans of Simonson’s Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand have reason to rejoice. She has created another engaging novel full of winsome characters, this time set during the summer before the outbreak of World War I. F...
Wichita Public Library – Westlink Branch
Wichita, KS

Tue 8/21/18 at 1pm-2pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
Masters of Mystery Book Discussion
A Trick of the Light by Louise Penny Artist Clara Morrow is about to have a prestigious show of her paintings when her childhood friend is found murdered, and Chief Inspector Gamache, the head of homicide at the Surete du Quebec, is called to investig...
Wichita Public Library – Lionel D. Alford Branch
Wichita, KS

Wed 8/22/18 at 6pm-7pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
Walk-In Tech Help
Bring your devices and ask about your laptop, tablet, e-reader, or cell phone. This is also a good time to learn more advanced computer techniques, or work on job applications and resumes. Registration is not required.
Wichita Public Library – Advanced Learning Library
Wichita, KS

Wed 8/22/18 at 4pm-5:30pm
Wed 8/29/18 at 4pm-5:30pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
World War I History Told through the Life of One Soldier
A presentation about the history of American's participation in World War I given by Claude Humbert and Valerie Vitoux from Orleans, France. This event is sponsored by Wichita Area Sister Cities. After finding a steamer trunk with the belongings of America...
Wichita-Sedgwick County Historical Museum
Wichita, KS

Wed 8/22/18 at 2pm-4pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures, Computers/Technology
Downloading E-Books
Learn how to use Overdrive, the Library’s free digital e-book service. Bring your digital reader or mobile device for hands-on-help. Participants must have an active library card to use the digital collection. Registration is required, beginning on June 1;...
Wichita Public Library – Lionel D. Alford Branch
Wichita, KS

Thu 8/23/18 at 1pm-2:30pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
My Favorite Murder Podcast Murderino Meetup
Calling Wichita Murderinos! Are you a Georgia or a Karen? Do you know how to SSDGM--or want to find out? Meet up with your fellow Murderinos to listen to and chat about episodes of "My Favorite Murder," play games, and read true crime books!
Wichita Public Library – Advanced Learning Library
Wichita, KS

Thu 8/23/18 at 7pm-7:50pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures
World War I History Told through the Life of One Soldier
A presentation about the history of American's participation in World War I given by Claude Humbert and Valerie Vitoux from Orleans, France. This event is sponsored by Wichita Area Sister Cities. After finding a steamer trunk with the belongings of America...
Reflection Ridge Retirement Community
Wichita, KS

Fri 8/24/18 at 12:15pm-1:30pm
Talks & Readings: Family/Child (Books)
Jody Jensen Shaffer Special Story Time
Watermark Books & Cafe will host Kansas City author Jody Jensen Shaffer on Saturday, August 25th at 10:30 a.m. for a special story time and signing of her new book, It's Your First Day of School, Busy Bus! It's the first day of school But is Busy Bus re...
Watermark Books & Cafe
Wichita, KS

Sat 8/25/18 at 10:30am-11am
Talks & Readings: Conference, Talks/Lectures
Knowledge is Power – a parliamentary workshop presented by the Kansas State Association of Parliamentarians
Whether you are managing meetings or just participating in them, you don't have time to waste in poorly run meetings. Knowing how to use parliamentary procedure will help save you time, energy and frustration. So if you use Robert's Rules of Order to run y...
Haysville Community Library
Haysville, KS

Sat 8/25/18 at 9:30am-3:15pm
Talks & Readings: Talks/Lectures, Business
Simple Steps to Start Your Small Business
This Small Business Administration/SCORE program will show you the steps to starting up a business the right way. You will also learn about business start-up resources at the Library. Registration is required, and is open between July 22 and August 22; ca...
Wichita Public Library – Advanced Learning Library
Wichita, KS

Sat 8/25/18 at 1pm-2:30pm
    

Where To Do It!
Filter by City or Town: