Around Wichita Things To Do Places To Go People To See Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event


Wichita Community Theatre


address  258 N. Fountain
 Wichita, KS  67208
phone (316) 686-1282
www.wichitacommunitytheatre.com

FORTINBRAS by Lee Blessing

FORTINBRAS by Lee Blessing

Comedy
Fortinbras by Lee Blessing runs April 19-30. Wednesday-Saturday the show starts at 8pm. Sunday, April 23 is at 7pm and Sunday, April 30 is a 2pm matinee. For reservations call: 316-686-1282. Dan Schuster directs. Young Fortinbras, a modern man of action, enters during the last scene of Hamlet only to order the bodies of the royal family shuffled off while he devises the best possible media blitz to legitimize his ascension to the throne of Denmark.  Fortinbras makes snap decisions. He has no use for sentimentality – or for the “truth” if it is inconvenient.  “Who can understand all this stuff? A ghost appears to Hamlet and tells him his uncle killed his father, so Hamlet pretends to go crazy – or maybe he really does? – and he decides to kill his uncle. But he stalls around, kills a guy who’s not his uncle, gets sent to England, gets rescued by pirates, comes back and kills everybody – including himself. I mean, come ON.”  Fortinbras decides to make up his own story in which they are all killed by a Polish spy. "Ghosts are hellzapoppin" in Lee Blessing's self-described new "metaphysical farce," Fortinbras, a comic interplay of wry literary criticism and contemporary wit which takes up where William Shakespeare's Hamlet left off. As inescapably relevant to today's political scene as the classic from which it is drawn, Fortinbras cannot help but raise questions about authority and leadership.
comedy
Event Info: (316) 686-1282
Ages: 18 and up
Price: $14 for adults, $12 for seniors, students and military
Event Website »
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Wed 4/19/17 at 8pm 
 • Thu 4/20/17 at 8pm 
 • Fri 4/21/17 at 8pm 
 • Sat 4/22/17 at 8pm 
 • Sun 4/23/17 at 7pm 
 • Wed 4/26/17 at 8pm 
 • Thu 4/27/17 at 8pm 
 • Fri 4/28/17 at 8pm 
 • Sat 4/29/17 at 8pm 
 • Sun 4/30/17 at 2pm